Metrobus March – M30

Route M30 is a Metrobus route which operates between Taronga Zoo and Sydenham via Mosman, Sydney CBD, Sydney University and Newtown.


The service originally ran from Spit Junction to Enmore, beginning operation on 28 March 2010. On 25 April 2010, the service was extended to Sydenham as Enmore was consider to be a poor terminus location. From 4 October 2015, the service was changed to operate along Elizabeth Street in the City due to light rail construction on George Street. On 26 November 2017, the M30 was extended to Taronga Zoo.

The M30 runs every 10 minutes during peak periods, 15 minutes during off-peak weekday periods, and 20 minutes on weekends. It operates between 6am and 8pm daily.

The M30 usually operates using articulated “bendy” buses from North Sydney or Tempe depot. These buses are sometimes substituted by 12.5m buses.


Metrobus March – M20

The M20 is a Metrobus route that operates between Gore Hill and Botany via North Sydney, Sydney CBD, Rosebery and Mascot.


The route was initially intended to run from Lane Cove Interchange to Sydney Airport, however disagreements with both Lane Cove Council and Sydney Airport forced the termini to be located in Gore Hill and Mascot instead.

Services commenced on 26 October 2009 between Gore Hill and Mascot as the second Metrobus route. From 27 February 2011 the service was extended to Botany Shops.

The M20 has been the most successful Metrobus service, with the route experiencing passenger displacement during peak hours, particularly on the inner southern portion of the route through densely populated Surry Hills, Waterloo and Zetland. This led to short runnings of the service during peak hour and after existing operating hours between City Wynyard and Zetland beginning on 4 October 2015.

Services operate along the entire length of the route between 6am and 8pm daily. Frequencies vary from 10 minutes during peak, 15 minutes off peak and 20 minutes on weekends. Between City Wynyard and Zetland the service operates between 4am and Midnight, with a frequency of 5 minutes in peak hour, 15 minutes off peak, 20 minutes on weekends and late at night.

The service is predominantly operated using articulated “bendy” buses from Port Botany and Tempe depot. Some late night services use standard 12.5m buses from Tempe.

Metrobus March – M10 (Featured Bus Route – March 2018)

Metrobus is an Australian high frequency, high capacity bus network in Sydney that links key employment and growth centres. There are 13 routes with all route numbers are prefixed with an “M” followed by 2 numbers. There are three Metrobus operators, STA with routes M10-M54, Hillsbus with routes M60-M61 and Transdev with routes M90-M92.

13 Routes, 13 Posts, This March we will be featuring all the Metrobus routes, starting today by revisiting the M10 which we previously looked at.

The M10 runs from Maroubra to Leichhardt via UNSW, Taylor Square, Central Station and Parramatta Road


Route M10 was the original route in the Metrobus network, launched on 12 October 2008. It was part of an attempt to provide a bus rapid transit network in Sydney providing an increase in services on busy corridors and also to reduce the number of buses terminating in the CBD where lay-over space is limited.

It initally ran from Kingsford to Leichhardt Marketplace via Town Hall howver the route has had numerous modifications. In 2009 the the route was changed to Maroubra Junction to Leichhardt Town Hall due to availability of suitable bus stops and layover space, in 2011 it was extended to Leichhardt Pioneer Park. In 2015, the part of the route via Town Hall was removed from the route due to the construction on the CSELR.

The service runs every 10 minutes during peak hour, every 15 minutes off peak and every 20 minutes at night and on weekends. The hours of operation are from 6am-8pm daily.

The service is operated by a fleet of Volgren or Custom Coaches bodied Volvo B12BLEA articulated buses from Leichhardt and Port Botany depots.